Locking the Course Room

By default, a premade Course Room that is always available resides in each course in which Blackboard Collaborate Ultra has been made available to. If you are not using the Course Room, you can lock it to prevent students from accessing the wrong session and reduce confusion. The instructions below will explain how to lock the Course Room.

Entering the Collaborate Ultra Portal

Entering the Collaborate Ultra Portal

Entering the Collaborate Ultra Portal within your course site depends on where you created a link to it - either in 1) the Course Menu or 2) a Content Area.

1) If you have created a Collaborate Ultra tool link in your Course Menu, you can click on this directly to launch the application.

2) If you have created a Collaborate Ultra link within a Content Area, first click the name of the Content Area in the Course Menu, and then click the Collaborate Ultra link in the Content Area.

If you have not yet created a Collaborate Ultra link in either the Course Menu or a Content Area, then please refer to the Enabling Collaborate Ultra in Your Blackboard Course guide.

Once you have clicked on the Collaborate Ultra link in either the Course Menu or in a Content Area, you should see the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra screen shown below.

Joining the Course Room

By default, every Blackboard course has a Course Room that is enabled. This room is open 24/7, and to enter it, just click the Join room link that is available. However, if you do not want students to have access to a room that is open 24/7 or you would prefer to use scheduled sessions, you may lock this room by following the steps below:

1. Click the Course Room Options button on the right side of you screen.

2. Select Disable course room.