Changing a User's Course Role

This guide will demonstrate how to change a user's course role in Blackboard.

Open the Control Panel

Image of the Blackboard control panel opened on Users and Groups with Users outlined.

Log into your Blackboard course and go to the Control Panel.

  1. Click on Users and Groups.
  2. Select Users.

Changing a User's Course Role, Part 1

Image of the User List in Blackboard with the following annotations: 1.Locate the user whose role you wish to change, hover over the username and click on the chevron that appears.2.Click on Change User's Role in Course to change the user's role.

You will now see a list of users who are enrolled in your Blackboard Learn course.

  1. Locate the user whose role you wish to change, hover over the username and click on the chevron that appears.
  2. Click on Change User's Role in Course to change the user's role.

Changing a User's Course Role, Part 2

You will now see a screen similar to the one above labeled Change User's Role in Course. Under Role and Availability, use the radio buttons to select the desired role for the individual. When finished, click the Submit button to update the user's role.

Explanation of User Course Roles

Role Description
Student This is the default role for all users enrolled in the course. A Student user does not have access to the Control Panel or course editing capabilities.
Instructor Instructors have full access to the entire course, including the Control Panel. This role is generally assigned to the person developing, teaching, or facilitating the class. If a course is unavailable to students, users with the Instructor role may still access it. The instructor is included in the course description.
Teaching Assistant Users with the Teaching Assistant role have access to most of the course Control Panel including grading. If the course is unavailable to students, teaching assistants may still access the course like an instructor, however, the teaching assistant is not included in the course description and cannot remove an instructor from a course.
Grader This role provides limited access to the Control Panel in relation to grading and graded activities. Graders can assist an instructor in the creation, management, delivery, and grading of assignments, tests, and surveys. The grader may also assist an instructor with adding manual entries to the Grade Center.

If a course is unavailable to students, the course appears in the My Courses module and in the course list for a user with the role of Grader. However, the grader can't enter the course until the course is available.

As part of the delegation grading workflow, instructors can assign the ability to reconcile grades to graders.
Facilitator

This role has default privileges related to course materials, gradebook, calendar, announcements, discussions, and groups to assist instructors in the progress of a course.

This useful for managing content input from subject matter experts for large, multi-section courses that are facilitated by multiple faculty. 

Course Builder This role provides access to create and modify course content, but does not allow access to student grades. The Course Builder role has access to most areas of the course or organization Control Panel, but not the Grade Center.

If the course is unavailable to students, a course builder can still access the course. The course builder can't remove an instructor from a course.
SDS Course Builder

This role is used by Student Disability Services to provide accessible content.

This role's access mirrors the regular Course Builder profile.

Guest This role allows instructors can make areas within a course accessible to unauthenticated users. Guest users do not have access to the course or organization Control Panel. See also the info bullet regarding the special considerations for this role.
Observer This role is used by Student Athletic Advising to monitor athlete academic progress.

Manually adding a student to your Blackboard course does not officially register the student for the course. In order to receive credit for a course, students must register for the course in myUT, at which time they will be automatically enrolled in the Blackboard course within 2 business days. The only circumstance in which an instructor should manually add a Student user is to make up an incomplete for a previously registered semester or for guest access,not as a registration override in the current semester.

If you have a student-athlete in your course, you will receive a notification that the student's athletic advisor has been added as an Observer,  which will include full instructions of any steps needed, including setting permissions for Observer access.   Most commonly, this is already done for you by a member of UToledo Online to save you the extra steps.

The Guest role provides limited access to the course and requires an additional setting to allow Guest access. If you want an individual to have "read" access to your course, assign the Student role to that individual instead.