Changing a User's Course Availability

These instructions will demonstrate how to change a student's availability in a course site. The availability settings determine whether or not a user can access the course.  Please note: Users who drop or withdraw from the course will have their role changed automatically to No.  In order for the student to be added back into the course, the student must apply for readmission to the course, as changing the user's availability back to Yes will result in the user's availability to revert to No the next day.

Open the Control Panel

Image of the Blackboard control panel opened on Users and Groups with Users outlined.

Log into your Blackboard course and go to the Control Panel.

  1. Click on Users and Groups.
  2. Select Users.

Changing a User's Course Availability, Part 1

You will now see a list of users who are enrolled in your Blackboard Learn course.

  1. Locate the user whose availability you wish to change, hover over the username and click on the chevron that appears.
  2. Click on Change User's Availability in Course to change the user's availability.

Changing a User's Course Availability, Part 2

You will now see a screen similar to the image above labeled Change User's Availability in Course.  Under Role and Availability, Available (this course only) select the desired availability status from the menu.   When finished, click the Submit button to update the user's role.